playswiper-leftsearchtranslatelink phoneswiper-rightemailscroll-downexternal-linkpausenext

Interactive bar

Google Services

Change Language
Oakridge School Logo

Oakridge School & Nursery

Working together to succeed

'Working together to succeed'




The Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage is set standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments. At Oakridge School, children start the Foundation Stage in the term after their 3rd birthday and finish at the end of their Reception year. Children are given rich learning opportunities through play and playful teaching and they are encouraged to foster the characteristics of early effective learning.


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum sets out what children between the ages of 5 and 16 should be taught.  The National Curriculum for children aged between 5 – 11 years is organised into two key stages:

Key Stage (KS)


Year Group and Class Name



Year 1- Hedgehogs and Squirrels

Year 2- Badgers and Owls



Year 3- Pumas and Tigers

Year 4- Jaguars and Panthers

Year 5- Lions and Leopards

Year 6- Red Kites and Eagles


The Governors are in agreement that the curriculum policy at Oakridge School should fall within the guidelines laid down by Buckinghamshire County Council Education Committee and in accordance with the National Curriculum.


The amount of time allocated to each subject area is in accordance with the National Curriculum. Any surplus time is allocated to English, especially the skills of Speaking and Listening.


French is taught in Years 3-6. Religious Education is based on the County R.E. syllabus.


For further information about the Curriculum at Oakridge School, please see our School Prospectus



Phonics is the first reading strategy used to teach children how to read. It is taught daily in a separate 20 minute lesson and runs alongside Guided Reading, Daily Reading and Shared Reading. Phonetic knowledge is so important to help children develop all the vital reading skills and give them a love for reading. Phonics is the method of learning letter sounds called Phonemes. Children must be able to listen and identify the letter sounds in words to be able to read and spell them. Some letter sounds can be single sounds like the 'a' in 'ant', double letter sounds (diagraph) like the 'ee' in 'been' or three letter sounds (trigraph) like the 'igh' in 'night'.


Children are encouraged to decode the letters in the word by segmenting (break up the sounds in a word) by listening carefully to the sounds they hear. e.g.'t-r-ee'.The next skill they need to learn is to blend (put the sounds back together to form the word). e.g. 'tree'.


At Oakridge, we follow the Letters and Sounds programme which teaches and applies the children's knowledge of letter sounds within practical and written activities. Children are assessed on what letter sounds they can recognize and are then grouped by their ability. Each phonics group has around 12-14 children so that the teacher can facilitate the learning to their needs. Letters and Sounds splits the phonemes into six Phases and the children work their way through the programme in Key Stage 1.


If you want more information on Letters and Sounds or Phonics, please click the links below -





Curriculum Overview Document